PSC Home Contact US State of Wi Portal
PSC Logo
Electricity Natural Gas Telecom Water consumer


Natural Gas





About Us

PSC Commissioners

The PSC is composed of three full-time Commissioners who decide the cases brought to the PSC for changes in utility operations, rates and for construction projects after a complete and thorough review of all the records compiled in the case, including public comments. Commissioners are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the State Senate for staggered, six-year terms.

One of these Commissioners is appointed chairperson by the Governor for a two-year term. The Commissioners’ Office, under the direction of the Chairperson, has oversight of all PSC staff related activities.

Any communications with individual Commissioners on contested cases before the commission may constitute a prohibited ex parte communication [Wis. Stat. § 227.50]. If you wish to comment on the record on a pending matter, please do not contact individual commissioners. The PSC has established an official method for receiving public comments that can be accessed at the PSC Comments page on our web site. Only comments submitted in this manner will be officially recorded and reviewed by Commissioners before deciding pending cases.


Phil Montgomery

Phil Montgomery worked closely with utility, energy and telecommunications issues Photo of Chairperson Montgomerywhile serving six terms as an elected state representative from Green Bay. He was appointed to Chairperson of the Public Service Commission of Wisconsin in March 2011 by Governor Scott Walker.

As a Legislator from 1998 to 2010, Representative Montgomery served on the Joint Committee on Finance, Chaired the Assembly Committee on Energy and Utilities and Joint Committee on Information Policy and Technology, and has served on other related committees in the Assembly and on the Board of Directors of the Wisconsin Public Utility Institute.

He has a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Houston and is a former systems engineer.

If you would like to contact Chairperson Montgomery, please send him an e-mail at:


Eric Callisto

Eric Callisto has been a Commissioner on the Public Service Commission of Wisconsin since May of 2008, when he was appointed by Governor Jim Doyle. He was Chairperson of the Commission from the time of his appointment through February of 2011. Photo of Commissioner Callisto

He is the President of the Organization of MISO States, Co‑Chair of the FERC-NARUC Sunday Morning Collaborative, Chair of the NARUC Committee on International Relations, and a member of the NARUC Electricity Committee. He was Co‑Chair of the Upper Midwest Transmission Development Initiative, and has served as a Wisconsin representative on the Eastern Interconnection States’ Planning Council (EISPC), where he was one of the EISPC’s representatives on the Stakeholder Steering Committee of the Eastern Interconnection Planning Collaborative.

Prior to his appointment as Commissioner, he was the top aide to the Chairperson of the PSC. His previous Wisconsin state government positions include Chief of Enforcement at the Department of Regulation and Licensing and serving as a legal advisor to the Governor.

From 1997 through 2003, he was an Assistant Attorney General at the Wisconsin Department of Justice, in both the Environmental Protection and Civil Litigation units. He has worked as a public defender in New York City and Philadelphia, and as a policy advisor at the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency in Washington D.C.

He has a law degree from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and a B.A. in Environmental Sciences from the University of Virginia.

If you would like to contact Commissioner Callisto, please send him an e-mail at:


Ellen Nowak

Ellen Nowak was first appointed to the Wisconsin Public Service Commission in July 2011 by Governor Scott Walker.  She was reconfirmed for a new, six-year term beginning on March 1, 2013. Photo of Commissioner Nowak

At the Commission, Ellen has delegated authority to provide commissioner-oversight of Focus on Energy, the state’s energy efficiency and renewable program. She serves on the Executive Committee and the Board of Directors for the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC). Her duties at NARUC also include serving on the Committee on Energy Resources and the Environment and the Task Force on Environmental Regulation and Generation. She is also a member of the Eastern Interconnection States’ Planning Council (EISPC). Commissioner Nowak also serves on the Advisory Council to the Board of Directors for the Electric Power Research Institute.

Prior to her appointment, she served as the chief of staff to Waukesha County Executive, Dan Vrakas. From 2002-2006, she served as legal counsel and subsequent chief of staff to the Speaker of the Wisconsin Assembly. She also later worked as the deputy director of School Choice Wisconsin. From 1998-2002, Ellen practiced business litigation at Mallery & Zimmerman, SC in Milwaukee.

Ellen has a law degree from Marquette University and a Bachelor of Science from the University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee.

If you would like to contact Commissioner Nowak, please send her an e-mail at: